if i shut my eyes will the monsters go away?

blindfold me and guide me through.
i can’t bear to see the sights.
blistering, burning, these fears so new.
i’m unaccustomed to such frights.
if i whimper does that make me weak?
warm, wet breath at my ear.
close my eyes. close my eyes. let me be.
i’m choosing ignorance here.

moments i remember.
paintings floating as we walked.
i was scared then too. i was scared then too.
but freely, eyes open, i strolled and i talked.

blindfold me and guide me through.
tell me i have no cause to fret.
there are monsters in the corner!
have you not seen them yet?
fingers roughly grab me, thorns stick in my feet.
to get me here….you had to cheat.

i was safe up in my tower.
i was safe among my friends.
i came down but from an hour.
my hour grew so thin.

blindfold me and guide me through.
there has to be a door.
is this just a house of horrors?
i keep hoping we’ll find more.
like those fabled enchanted forests.
a friendly face, a magic door.

blindfold me! blindfold me!
i can’t bear a glance.
i can hear the wise ones whispering:
“never, never choose ignorance.”

the blindfold knotted in my hand.
my eyes are still shut tight.
face my monsters. face my monsters.
i know i must choose sight.

Leave a Reply

